2022 OLP Series: Engaging Online Language Learners through SEL

Organizador: 

Tipo de curso: 

Modalidad: 

País: 

Fechas: 

27/01 al 24/02/2022

Titulación: 

Successful completion of this course will earn an optional digital badge conferred by the National Foreign Language Resource Center (University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa). Badge earners may be eligible to earn a Continuing Education Unit (CEU) towards maintaining their professional qualifications.

Precio: 

Gratuito

Descripción 

This series will highlight how online language instructors can use the Social Emotional Learning framework to engage students in the virtual classroom and enhance the experience and satisfaction of learning a language online. Topics will include highlighting learner self awareness, promoting self management and self motivation, expanding social awareness through online extracurricular activities, teaching responsible decision making through storytelling and building positive relationship skills in a supportive way.

Registration is FREE but required.
Register

LAST DAY TO REGISTER for access to the live webinar series is February 24, 2022. 

NOTES:
1. A screencast of these webinar sessions will be recorded and made available as an open educational resource in TED-Ed.
2. If you are plan to earn the digital badge, you should register no later than February 3, so you can meet the live webinar participation requirement.

Webinar Dates (Thursdays): Jan 27 | Feb 3 | Feb 10 | Feb 17 | Feb 24

2:00-3:30 pm (Hawaii Standard Time)
4:00-5:30 pm (Pacific)
5:00-6:30 pm (Mountain)
6:00-7:30 pm (Central)
7:00-8:30 pm (Eastern)

Webinar Schedule
January 27

Integrating SEL in Online Language Classrooms & Promoting Self-Awareness with Students
Anne Marie Gunter (North Carolina Department of Public Instruction)
Xatli Stox (North Carolina Department of Public Instruction)

February 3
SEL and Engagement in Virtual Classroom
Shara Packman (North Carolina Virtual Public School)

Building Compassion and Curiosity in Online Learning
Yo Azama (California State University, Monterey Bay)

February 10
SEL in the World Languages Classroom: Developing Responsible Decision-Making through Storytelling
Alegría Ribadeneira (Colorado State University, Pueblo)

Beyond Basic Storytelling
Ed Bamford (Moon Area High School)

February 17
Fostering Community in an Online Learning Environment
Revae Bostwick (North Carolina Virtual Public School)

Raising Social Awareness Through Cultural Connections
Meaghan DeRusso (North Carolina Virtual Public School)

February 24
Sharing ASL Tools for World Language Teachers to Leverage
Jan Fried (Kapi‘olani Community College):

Positive Interactions in the Online Language Classroom to Improve Relationship Skills
Megan Ferry (Union College)

¿Has tomado este curso? Deja un comentario

Plain text

  • Allowed HTML tags: <a> <em> <strong> <cite> <blockquote> <code> <ul> <ol> <li> <dl> <dt> <dd><br><p>
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.

Tipo de curso

Organizador